Share Price

Board Members

Non-Executive Chairman

Appointed to the Board: December 2018

Committee membership
Nomination, Chair

Over 30 years’ experience of operations management in the UK and the US, technical innovation and strategic planning, culminating in ten years as Chief Executive at the FTSE 100 science/R&D based company, Johnson Matthey.

In 2016 he was awarded an OBE for
services to the chemical industry

External appointments
Non-Executive Director of:
Royal Dutch Shell plc

The Goldsmiths' Company Charity

Previous experience
TT Electronics plc

Deputy Chair:
TI Fluid Systems plc

Non-Executive Director:
Paypoint plc
Amec Foster Wheeler plc 

Founder Member:
Prince of Wales’ Corporate Leaders Group on Climate Change

Honorary President:
SCI (the Society of Chemical Industry)

Chief Executive:
Johnson Matthey plc

Neil Carson

Executive Directors

Appointed to the board: November 2015

Holds a BSc and DPhil in physics from the University of York, is a Chartered Physicist and a  Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering. Ian has worked for Oxford Instruments since 1997 in a number of senior leadership roles including NanoCharacterisation Divisional Head, Group Technical Director and Chief Operating Officer.

Previous appointments
Senior Principal Scientist:
GEC-Marconi Materials Technology

Research Fellow:
University of York

Ian Barkshire

Chief Executive

Appointed to the Board: May 2016

Holds a BA in economics and agricultural economics from the University of Exeter. Gavin is a Chartered Accountant and an Associate Member of the Association of Corporate Treasurers.

Previous experience

Group Finance Director:
Synergy Health PLC

Corporate Finance Director:
Serco Group PLC

Senior finance positions:
Syngenta AG
AstraZeneca plc

Gavin Hill

Chief Financial Officer

Non-Executive Directors

Appointed to the Board: September 2020

Committee membership
Audit and Risk
Remuneration, Chair

Alison holds a BA in Engineering, Economics and Management from the University of Oxford and an MBA from Harvard Business School. She has a wide experience in strategic planning, business development and M&A across a variety of sectors and is a highly experienced non-executive director and committee chair.

External appointments
Non-Executive Director and Remuneration Committee Chair:
TT Electronics plc
Costain Group PLC

Non-Executive Director:
Cairn Energy PLC
British Standards Institute

Previous experience
Non-Executive Director Remuneration Committee Chair:
Cobham plc

Senior Independent Director:
e2v plc

Alison Wood

Senior Independent Director

Appointed to the Board: September 2014

Committee membership
Audit and Risk

Richard's research encompasses the physics, materials science and engineering of semiconductor devices made with carbon-based semiconductors. He is a Fellow of the Royal Society and of the Royal Academy of Engineering and a Foreign Member of the US National Academy of Engineering.

External appointments

Cavendish Professor of Physics and a Fellow of St. John's College at the University of Cambridge

Non-Executive Director of:
Cambridge Photon Technology
Eight19 Limited
Helio Display Materials Limited

Previous experience
Council Member:
The Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council 

Professor Sir Richard Friend

Independent Non-Executive Director

Appointed to the Board: February 2016

Committee membership
Audit and Risk, Chair

Holds a MA in physics from University of Oxford and is a fellow of the Chartered Institute of Management Accountants. Mary started her career at Coopers & Lybrand Management Consultancy Services and then went on to hold senior financial positions in a number of major businesses.

External appointments
Chief Financial Officer:
Lloyd’s Register

Previous experience
Group Finance Director:
Ultra Electronics Holdings plc

Director, Group Finance:
Qinetiq Group plc


Mary Waldner

Independent Non-Executive Director

Appointed to the Board: September 2021

Committee membership

Sustainability, Chair
Audit and Risk

Sir Nigel was a British diplomat and has deep knowledge of international politics, strategy, regulation and communication. He received his M.A. degree from Balliol College, University of Oxford, where he is now an Honorary Fellow. Sir Nigel served as British Ambassador to the USA from 2007 to 2012. Prior to this, he served as Foreign Policy and Defence Adviser to the Prime Minister and as British Ambassador and Permanent Representative to the European Union in Brussels. He joined the Diplomatic Service in 1976 and served in Brussels, Moscow, Washington and in a wide range of policy roles in London.


External appointments

Non-executive director of Invesco Ltd
Senior Adviser to Tanium, a cyber security company
Senior Adviser to the Universal Music Group
Chair of the Royal Institute of International Affairs (Chatham House)
Visiting Professor and former Council Member at King’s College, London

Previous experience

Non-executive director and Chair of the Safety, Environment and Sustainability Committee and member of the Nomination and Remuneration Committees at Royal Dutch Shell plc

Sir Nigel Sheinwald

Independent Non-Executive Director