14 Sep

Oxford Instruments NanoScience opens nominations for Lee Osheroff Richardson Science Prize 2024

Oxford Instruments NanoScience announced today that nominations for the Lee Osheroff Richardson Science Prize are now open.

The Lee Osheroff Richardson Science Prize promotes and recognises the novel work of young scientists working in the fields of low temperatures and/or high magnetic fields or surface science in North and South America.

The winner receives $8,000 cash prize, a certificate and trophy awarded at a specially held event and support to attend the APS March Meeting 2024. Nominations will close in January.

The 2024 LOR Science Prize selection committee is chaired by Professor Laura Greene, NHMFL and FSU and includes: Professor Hae-Young Kee, Toronto University; Professor Collin Broholm, Johns Hopkins University; and Professor Paula Giraldo-Gallo, University of the Andes and alumnus of the LOR Prize having won it herself in 2019. This year, Dr Xiaomeng Liu, from Princeton University, also joins the committee as an honorary member, having won the prize in 2022.

LOR Science Prize

Oxford Instruments is aware that there is a critical and often difficult stage for many scientists between completing a PhD and gaining a permanent research position. The company has therefore been helping individuals who are producing innovative work by offering assistance both financially and suitably promoting their research work, through sponsoring the LOR Science Prize for North and South America for the past 14 years. The Prize is named in honour of Professors David M. Lee, Douglas D. Osheroff and the late Robert C. Richardson, joint recipients of The Nobel Prize in Physics 1996 for their discovery of ‘superfluidity in helium-3’.

The previous winners of the LOR Science Prize are Dr Xiaomeng Liu, Dr Matthew Yankowitz, Dr Sheng Ran, Dr Paula Giraldo-Gallo, Dr Kate Ross, Dr Brad Ramshaw, Dr Mohamad Hamidian, Dr Cory Dean, Dr Chiara Tarantini, Dr Lu Li, Dr Kenneth Burch, Dr Jing Xia, Dr Vivien Zapf, Dr Eunseong Kim, Dr Suchitra Sebastian, Dr Jason Petta, Dr Christian Lupien and Dr James Nakamura.